Things

I’m not a materialist, but some things are precious to me, because they remind me of loved ones either passed on or far away.

My grandfather’s homemade deerskin jacket, which my husband Paul says is “the most beautiful object you own.” (Grandfather Austin was an Adirondack guide, and the first of four generations in my family who have guided for a living.)

Grandfather Austin in his Adirondack guideboat

Grandfather Austin in his Adirondack guideboat

A postcard on my windowsill from my daughter Rose, who lives several states east, with a line from Tolstoy: “There are as many loves as there are hearts.”

Stained glass in my window by my friend Rebbi Gazzaniga; oil paintings on my wall by my friend Elizabeth Black; photographs of my most recent Grand Canyon river trip by my friend Michael Mills.

These are just a few things I treasure, and some others are words: my late mother’s handwritten note to me from years ago, when I was a river guide and traveling downstream every day, that includes this quote from T.S. Eliot:

“We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.”
― T.S. EliotFour Quartets

I think we arrive back to our hearts, and our families, and know their worth.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Things

  1. Love your writing, Becca. I would probably love reading your grocery list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

