Watershed

I learned today that my novel Junction, Utah, won’t be out until January. I was hoping 2012 would be a watershed year–one in which I completed this long-running project and felt truly free to ease into the next.

Sometimes we forget where we are while we’re going where we think we’re going. It’s been such a long haul writing a novel and getting it ready for publication that I haven’t often looked up to see the trees beyond my own little forest. Knowing I needed to LOOK at something besides the page, I grabbed my camera and stepped out into the watershed where I work much of the time, Sonoma Valley.

IMG_1288

California toyon with red berries

Here are just a few pictures I snapped while enjoying the December afternoon and forgetting about deadlines and completions.

IMG_1296

Old vineyard in the afternoon

IMG_1305

Ho ho ho

The watershed has to be in ourselves, no matter what the publication schedule or feeling of satisfaction that comes with crossing a finishing line. We’re always working, deadlines or no. Getting outdoors to see what inspires us helps us keep the faith.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

